July 27th – Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Unknown-1

I reserved a lot of Prince award winning books at the library, and this was one of them. I started it this morning, and it is very confusing to me. I am now on page 112, and it is starting to intrigue me. At about page 52, I was ready to walk away from it, but after reading all these raves on Goodreads about it, I am not giving up on it.

It reminds me of William Golding’s Lord of the Flies, because it has all these battles between kids, and the adults don’t seem to have any control over them. Where are the adults while all this is going on? What kind of school is this? Also has a hint of John Knowles, A Separate Peace.The dream sequences are distorted to me and add confusion, but I have a feeling that it will all makes sense in the end. So I am reading on in hopes that I will see the light………….

A quote from Jellicoe Road which makes me want to keep on keeping on:

“It’s funny how you can forget everything except people loving you. Maybe that’s why humans find it so hard getting over love affairs. It’s not the pain they’re getting over, it’s the love.” 

Makes ya think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

