Regarding Monster Teachers by Peter Brown

I like how Peter Brown looks for the reason for the prickly teacher. I think back to some of my prickly teachers that I have had, and I do wonder what was so wrong in their lives that they were so unhappy. It makes me take pause, and forgive.

Nerdy Book Club

As an author and illustrator of children’s books, I spend a lot of time thinking about my own childhood. And when I look back, some of my most vivid memories involve teachers. My teachers had a wide variety of personalities and teaching styles, and they all contributed to my development in their own unique way. In fact, if it weren’t for some particularly important teachers, I never would have become an author and illustrator, and so I wouldn’t be here writing these words.

 

Lately, I’ve been thinking about teachers from my early years in elementary school. I had some really amazing teachers back then. They made boring subjects come alive, and made every student feel important, and saw qualities in me that I didn’t know were there.

 

Of course, I also had the occasional difficult teacher. You know, a teacher without a sense of humor, or who didn’t…

View original post 447 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

